Drink your breakfast

Sometimes we work against our own bodies, eating too much, or not the right things, making our tummy hurt. However I hear that having liquid breakfast is always a good choice.

Eating breakfast is a nice way of saying thank you to your body.

Unknown

What is in this smoothie?

Missy accidentally ordered more sorrel than she thought (so ditzy, tell me about it…) so they had to be used in different ways; one is this simple smoothie.

First, what is sorrel? It’s not common to eat this leafy veg in many countries but in Hungary there is a simple dish, sauted sorrel, that my Missy loves. (There is a recipe in English here if you’re curious.)

Here’s what Missy knows about sorrel: it is similar to spinach in appearance, a long green leaf, and is also filled with tons of goodies: fiber, vitamins A, C and B6, iron, magnesium, potassium and calcium, so it’s good for digestion, even liver problems and ulcers. But the best part is its tangy, lemony taste.

"Greenberry"
Sorrel (could also be spinach)
Strawberry
Banana
Almond milk

It was my first time trying a smoothie, and quite frankly, it didn’t live up to its hype.

Missy added some green shell mussel powder that I get to strengthen my joints (they play up from time to time) hoping that its strong smell will “sweeten” the deal – it did but I still can’t say I particularly enjoyed this endeavor. It might be healthy but even my limited tastebuds (dogs have less than humans, did you know?) didn’t find it delicious.

https://fb.watch/ccmZXgU3EY/

Interestingly, Missy quite liked it, although the smell was a bit off-putting at first. But the smoothie was fresh, the right combination of sweet and sour, and quite filling. Well, we can’t agree on everything, can we?

Do you have any favourite smoothie recipes (either for Missy or me)?

Love, Mia

April health challenge update:
– Did Missy order food? No
💪
– Did we both eat veggie/fruit for every meal? Yes
🙈
– Did we exercise? Some
🤔
– Did we take 7k steps? No
😢
– Did Missy visit at least 3 blogs in the challenge? Yes
🍾

10 thoughts on “Drink your breakfast

  1. Mia, you poor thing, I saw the video on Instagram and immediately felt sorry for you. Anyhow, for your joints, tell Missy to look for a supplement that has glucosamine, chondroitin and MSM — it is for joint support and I give it to Callum every morning for his arthritis and at 8 he is as sprightly as those half his age he runs around with.

    Ronel visiting for the A-Z Challenge My Languishing TBR: D

    Like

  2. I can’t stand sorrel, so I’m with you there, but I do frequently make smoothies. Mostly because I’ve got various disorders that all combine to make me really anaemic. So, I eat a lot of Kale, spinach and fruit when I can. I’m still falling short of my five portions a day, but I am thinking about how to change that. I’ve got to do something – I’ll be upping my exercise soon.
    Kai – visiting from Kai’s AtoZ – Dancing in the rain: D

    Like

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.